Year 2022

07/2022 Ajmal joined Arava Research Group as a Ph.D student in Fall 2022 

06/2022 Sudhan has been awarded ECS F.M becket summer fellowship for summer 2022. This summer fellowship is awarded annually to four graduate students around the world . 

05/2022 Congratulations Kiran Mahankali on completing your dissertation and receiving your Ph. D! 

04/2022 Sudhan’s work on high temperature cathode electrolyte interphase chemistry was accepted for publication in Chemistry of Materials, congratulations!

03/2022  Sathish Rajendran announced as the winner of 2021-2022 Ralph H Kummler Distinguished Achievement Award in Graduate Student Research.

01/2022 Veka Sri joined Arava Research Group

Year 2021

10/2021 Sudhan attended 240th ECS digital meeting on Advancing Solid State & Electrochemical Science & Technology

09/2021 Sudhan’s work on anionic redox chemistry cathodes was accepted for publication in Journal of the American Chemical Society, congratulations! 

08/2022 Prof. Leela Arava received an NSF grant to explore chalcogen redox chemistry for Li-ion cathodes. 

08/2021 Congratulations to Sathish and team for cover letter publication
Advanced Energy Materials, Vol.11, No.29, 2021.


08/2021 Sudhan was awarded Thomas Rumble graduate fellowship by Wayne State University, USA. (August 2021)
07/2021 Sudhan was selected for participating 23rd National School on Neutron and X-ray Scattering, organized by Argonne National Laboratory and Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA. July 2021

04/2021  Sathish Rajendran awarded with ECS 2021 H. H. Uhlig Summer Fellowship. This is a prestigious annual fellowship from the Electrochemical Society (ECS) awarded to four recipients from around the world. https://www.electrochem.org/press/2021-ecs-summer-fellowships/


03/2020  Sathish Rajendran and Prof. Leela Arava awarded with competitive Graduate Research Assistantship by the graduate school for the year 2020-2021.

Year 2019

10/2019 Sudhan attended 235th ECS meeting on Advancing Solid State & Electrochemical Science & Technology held in Atlanta, GA.

08/2019 Sudhan joined Arava Research Group

05/2019 Congratulations to Leela Arava on his news article posting on Crain's Detroit Business 


04/2019 Sathish Rajendran awarded with Thomas C. Rumble Graduate Fellowship for the years 2019-2020

04/2019 Congratulations to Leela Arava, associate professor of mechanical engineering, for receiving a Career Development Chair at the Academic Recognition Ceremony


Year 2018

8/2018 Wayne State research team creating millimeter-scale lithium-ion battery for autonomous applications

05/2018 Sathish Rajendran awarded with Thomas C. Rumble Graduate Fellowship for the years 2018-2019 


2/2018 Prof. Arava receives the NSF CAREER Award.


Year 2017

10/17 Congratulations to Nirul, Praveen and Sundeep “Micro Buoy” team for winning “Technology Innovation Award” with $15,000 prize money at ‘Internet of H2O’ national level competition organized by Cleveland Water alliance, Digital C and USignite at Sandusky OH, 2017!!!

5/17 Congratulations to Nirul, Praveen, Sundeep and Chad “Micro Buoy” team for winning grand prize of $50,000 at the ErieHack Water Innovation Summit finals today!!!

6/2017 Highlighted in “International Joint Commission/Great Lakes Connection” Newsletter

5/2017 Wayne State University team wins Erie Hack competition

5/2017 Jeff Hoffman, co-founder of Priceline.com talks about ErieHack technology challenge winner Micro Buoy

5/2017 Erie Hack grand prize goes to Wayne State team

5/2017 Wayne State Engineering team takes Grand Prize at Erie Hack

4/2017 Research team led by Wayne State engineering personnel advances to Erie Hack finals

Year 2016

6/2016 Andrew, Ann, Justone and Vincent joins the group for undergraduate research, welcome!

6/2016 We have successfully launched “Mobile Energy Lab” outreach program.

6/2016 Congratulations to Nirul for receiving ‘Rumble Fellowship’ for the year 2016-2017!

5/2016 Khalid’s paper on Si anodes for high-temperature battery gets accepted in ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces, Congratulations!

5/2016 Dr. Thangavel joins the group as post-doctoral researcher, welcome!

4/2016 Congratulations to Deepesh for receiving ‘Outstanding Teaching Assistant’ award!!!

3/2016 We have successfully demonstrated Li-ion battery operating up to 150 oC for the first time. Congratulations to entire team for their publication in Advanced Energy Materials journal!

2/2016 Our collaborative work with Prof. Gedanken’s group at Bar-Ilan University (Israel) on “Utilization of solar energy for continuous bioethanol production for energy applications” gets accepted in RSC advances journal

1/2016 Congratulations to Hesham for successfully defending his Ph.D. theses!